Friday: October 20, 2017
Skip Navigation LinksPolice : Special Response Team
Special Response Team

Overview

In its daily fight against various types of crime, law enforcement agencies must use every advantage they have.  One of those advantages is the use of a highly trained team in the use of Special Weapons And Tactics.  In 1990, the Port Huron Police Department created the department’s Special Response Team (SRT), to handle special threat incidents.  Special threat incidents are generally outside the training scope of the regular patrol personnel.  In 2011, the Port Huron Police Department expanded its operation by bringing on a member from the Marysville Police Department.
The goal of the Special Response Team is to provide protection and safety to innocent civilians and police personnel, while reducing the possibility of injuries or death at high risk incidents.


About the Team


The Special Response Team is comprised of department members who serve full time as sworn police officers representing various ranks and positions within both departments and are supported by a Crisis Negotiations Unit (CNU) and a Tactical Emergency Medical Support (TEMS) program.  The team is on call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and can respond at a moment’s notice to any of the following incidents:
- Barricaded Persons
- Suicidal Persons
- Sniping Incidents
- Hostage Incidents
- Searches of Armed Suspects
- Vice or Narcotic Raids
- High-Risk Warrant Service
- Dignitaries Protection
- Civil Disturbance
- Weapons of Mass Destruction
- Anti-Terrorism Incidents


About the Members


The team is made up of police officers, in which their assignment to the Special Response Team is voluntary and is an additional responsibility to their normal duties.  Each member has to pass an initial physical agility and oral board examination, before being accepted to the team.  Each member must maintain their physical fitness and weapon proficiency, which is tested throughout the year.  Officers selected to the team have to attend and pass a basic SWAT school and will then receive monthly and advanced in house team training along with specialized schools in the area of special weapons and tactics.
To resolve critical incidents in a peaceful manner, the Port Huron Police Department Special Response Team and Crisis Negotiations Unit train and work together.


Contact Information


Special Response Team – Command Officer
Captain Joseph A. Platzer  810-984-9710 ext 1023
platzeja@porthuron.org

Special Response Team – Assistant Command Officer
Sergeant David Seghi    810-984-8415 ext 1976
seghid@porthuron.org

Special Response Team – Team Leader
Sergeant Douglas Decker     810-984-8415 ext 1904
deckerd@porthuron.org
  


Community Policing Logo



 

Facebook link



 

Twitter link
  

Neighborhood Enforcement Team (NET)

810-984-5383

    

Detective Sgt. C. Frazier frazierc@porthuron.org
Detective E. Krikorian krikorie@porthuron.org
Officer G. Sharp sharpw@porthuron.org
Trooper N. Tucker tuckern@porthuron.org
Officer J. Disser disserj@porthuron.org
Officer R. Philage philager@porthuron.org
Agent M. Ball ballm@porthuron.org

  

Criminal Investigative Division

810-984-9715


Det. Lt. R. Wesch ext 1039 weschr@porthuron.org
Det. M. McBride ext 1040 mcbridem@porthuron.org
Det. K. Brisby ext 1041 brisbyk@porthuron.org
Det. C. Bean ext 1042 beanc@porthuron.org
Det. K. Merritt ext 1043 merrittk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Fantin ext 1045 fantine@porthuron.org
spacer spacer spacer
  © Copyright 2016 - City of Port Huron - All Rights Reserved.
100 McMorran Boulevard, Port Huron, Michigan 48060
cphdp@porthuron.org