Monday: December 11, 2017
Skip Navigation LinksPolice : Community Oriented Policing

AmericanBanner.jpg

Community Oriented Policing

Community policing is a philosophy that promotes organizational strategies, which support the systematic use of partnership and problem solving techniques, to proactively address the immediate conditions that give rise to public safety issues such as crime, social disorder, ad fear of crime.

Community Partnerships


Collaborative partnerships between the Port Huron Police Department and the individuals and organizations they serve to develop solutions to problems and increase trust in police.

  • Other Government Agencies
  • Community Members/Groups
  • Nonprofits/Service Providers
  • Private Businesses
  • Media

Organizational Transformation


The alignment of organizational management, structure, personnel, and information systems to support community partnerships and proactive problem solving.

Agency Management

  • Climate and culture
  • Leadership
  • Labor Relations
  • Decision-Making
  • Strategic planning
  • Policies
  • Organizational evaluations (CALEA)
  • Transparency

Organizational Structure

  • Geographic assignment of officers
  • De-specialization
  • Resources and finances

Personnel

  • Recruitment, hiring, and selection
  • Personnel supervision/evaluations
  • Training

Information Systems (Technology)

  • Communication/access to data
  • Quality and accuracy of data


Problem Oriented Policing


The process of engaging in the proactive and systematic examination of identified problems to develop and rigorously evaluate effective responses.
  • Scanning: Identifying and prioritizing problems
  • Analysis: Researching what is known about the problem
  • Response: Developing solutions to bring about lasting
  • reductions in the number and extent of problems
  • Assessment: Evaluating the success of the responses
  • Using the crime triangle to focus on immediate conditions
    (victim/offender/location)



The Port Huron Police Department Mission

The Port Huron Police Department will respond to community needs though a combined strategy of preventative, proactive and reactive policing programs, using the concept of a totally integrated team effort by all employees, the whole of which will be supported by a progressive participatory management environment.



Community Policing Logo



 

Facebook link



 

Twitter link
  

Neighborhood Enforcement Team (NET)

810-984-5383

    

Detective Sgt. C. Frazier frazierc@porthuron.org
Detective C. Bean beanc@porthuron.org
Officer G. Sharp sharpw@porthuron.org
Officer R. Sheedy sheedyr@porthuron.org
Trooper N. Tucker tuckern@porthuron.org
Officer J. Disser disserj@porthuron.org
Officer R. Philage philager@porthuron.org
Agent M. Ball ballm@porthuron.org

  

Criminal Investigative Division

810-984-9715


Det. Lt. R. Wesch ext 1039 weschr@porthuron.org
Det. M. McBride ext 1040 mcbridem@porthuron.org
Det. K. Brisby ext 1041 brisbyk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Krikorian ext 1042 krikorie@porthuron.org
Det. K. Merritt ext 1043 merrittk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Fantin ext 1045 fantine@porthuron.org
spacer spacer spacer
  © Copyright 2016 - City of Port Huron - All Rights Reserved.
100 McMorran Boulevard, Port Huron, Michigan 48060
cphdp@porthuron.org