Thursday: June 29, 2017
Skip Navigation LinksPolice : Mountain Bike Patrol Unit

Port Huron Police Mountain Bike Patrol Unit

Mountain Bike

Overview

The Port Huron Police Department’s Bicycle Patrol Team operates in many capacities within the City and also assists other jurisdictions upon request. The bicycle patrol team functions as not only inpro-active policing and in crime prevention, but also plays a large role in the Community Oriented Policing (C.O.P.) program. Unlike traditional road patrol officers that mainly patrol by vehicle, bike team members are able to move through the neighborhoods and are more agile when it comes to dealing with pedestrians and other individuals riding bicycles. Bike teams can also be more tactical as individuals partaking in criminal activity or other street crimes often do not notice the presence of the bike team until officers make contact with an individual. Police cadets also play a large role in on the bike team. During the Spring and Summer months, Cadets patrol the parks, beaches and waterways looking for various violations and alerting Officers as needed.

About The Unit

The Bike team is also a very useful in the Community Oriented Policing (C.O.P.) program.  Officers and Cadets are more easily accessible to the public than an officer in a patrol vehicle. Bike team members often patrol special events within the city as well as other cities in a mutual aid capacity. Bike safety issues and lessons are often discussed with children and other members of the community while a team is on patrol.

About the Members

There are several members of the Port Huron Police Department that are also trained Bicycle Team Officers. The team is supervised by Sgt. Jason Barna and Officer Ryan Mynsberge.


Community Policing Logo



 

Facebook link



 

Twitter link
  

Neighborhood Enforcement Team (NET)

810-984-5383

    

Detective Sgt. C. Frazier frazierc@porthuron.org
Detective E. Krikorian krikorie@porthuron.org
Officer G. Sharp sharpw@porthuron.org
Trooper E. Shumaker shumakee@porthuron.org

  

Criminal Investigative Division

810-984-9715

  Det. Lt. J. Wood ext 1039 woodj@porthuron.org
Det. M. McBride ext 1040 mcbridem@porthuron.org
Det. K. Brisby ext 1041 brisbyk@porthuron.org
Det. C. Bean ext 1042 beanc@porthuron.org
Det. K. Merritt ext 1043 merrittk@porthuron.org
Det. E. Fantin ext 1045 fantine@porthuron.org
spacer spacer spacer
  © Copyright 2016 - City of Port Huron - All Rights Reserved.
100 McMorran Boulevard, Port Huron, Michigan 48060
cphdp@porthuron.org